South Africa and Germany have a long history of scientific and technological cooperation. The first recorded post-apartheid South Africa – Germany scientific and technological cooperation was signed in 1996 and administered under the German-South African Binational Commission.

The Science and Technology Cooperation (STC) agreement provided for the establishment of a Joint Science and Technology Cooperation (JSTC) committee, which addressed joint research projects in agriculture, life, earth, mathematical, engineering, physical and health sciences; the joint use of scientific and technological facilities, information exchange, joint events as well as the exchange and posting of experts. The two countries celebrated a Joint Year of Science (SA-German Year of Science) in 2013, with over 400 R&D projects of over R80 million funded bilaterally at research institutions, universities, and industrial partners.

Please read more here.