

FIRST ANNUAL SATN CONFERENCE

21-23 May 2008

Nature and Characteristics of South African Universities of Technology

Hosted by the Durban University of Technology Held at the ICC and DUT Conference Centre

CONFERENCE PROGRAMME

WEDNESDAY, 21 MAY 2008

PRE- SATN CONFERENCE

Venue: Tala Game Reserve

18.00 - 20:00 WELCOME COCKTAIL FUNCTION

Prof Roy du Pré

SATN Chair and Vice Chancellor Durban University of Technology

THURSDAY 22 MAY 2008

SATN CONFERENCE

Venue: International Convention Centre (ICC), Durban

08:30 - 09:00 Registration (tea/coffee on arrival)

09:00 - 09:10 CONFERENCE OPENING

Prof Roy du Pré

SATN Chair and Vice Chancellor Durban University of Technology

09:10 - 10:10 SATN PROJECT COMMITTEES

Chair:

Prof Thandwa Mthembu

Vice Chancellor

Central University of Technology

Chairpersons of Project Committees to provide an update on current activities within their project committee

University of Technology Typology Project Committee Curriculum Project Committee Research Outputs Project Committee Data Sharing Systems Project Committee Information Technology Project Committee

10:10 - 10:15 SIGNING OF SATN TRUST DEED

10:15 - 10:30 Morning Tea

10:30 - 12:30 PLENARY SESSION

Work Integrated Learning

KEYNOTE

Mr Brian Forbes

Vice President SASCE

Chair:

Prof Vuyisa Mazwi-Tanga

Vice-Chancellor Cape-Peninsula University of Technology

Panel:

Prof Roy du Pré

Vice-Chancellor
Durban University of Technology

Mr Alpheus Maphosa

Director Co-operative Education Vaal University of Technology

Dr Paul Stonely

Executive Director WACE

Representative

Department of Labour

Representative

Department of Education

Representatives

Industry

12:30 - 13:00 KEYNOTE

The DoE's view of the role of UoTs in South African Higher Education

Dr Molapo Qhobela

DDG: Higher Education Department of Education

Chair:

Prof Errol Tyobeka

Vice Chancellor

Tshwane University of Technology

13:00 - 14:00 LUNCH

14:00 - 15:30 PLENARY SESSION

HEQF: Implications and Opportunities for Universities of Technology

KEYNOTE

Prof Cheryl De la Rey

Chief Executive Officer Council on Higher Education

Chair:

Prof Irene Moutlana

Vice-Chancellor

Vaal University of Technology

Panel:

Prof Anthony Staak

Deputy Vice Chancellor: Academic

Cape-Peninsula University of Technology

Mr Jan Smit

Director: Curriculum Development Vaal University of Technology

Prof Ansu Erasmus

Senior Director: Higher Education Development and Support (HEDS)

Tshwane University of Technology

16:00 - 17:30 PLENARY SESSION

The Impact of Technology Higher Education Institutions on Society

KEYNOTE

Dr Vicki Thomson

Director: Australian Technology Network (ATN) (Characteristics of Australian Universities of Technology)

Chair:

Prof Thandwa Mthembu

Vice Chancellor Central University of Technology

Panel:

Prof Jean-Pierre Steger

Professor at the Department of Electrical and Communications Engineering of the School of Engineering and Information Technology of University of Applied Science, Switzerland

Dr Molapo Qhobela

DDG/H: Higher Education Department of Education

Dr Engela van Staden

Director: Strategic Management Support Tshwane University of Technology

17:30	Depart for Ushaka Marine World
18:00 – 18:30	Pre-Dinner Drinks
18:30 - 21:00	Welcome and short address – Prof Mthembu (Vice-Chair SATN) Conference Dinner

FRIDAY 23 MAY 2008

SATN CONFERENCE (CONTINUE)

Venue: DUT Conference Centre

08:30 - 09:00 Arrival (Tea/Coffee)

09:00 - 10:30 PLENARY SESSION

Research, Innovation and Technology Transfer

KEYNOTE

Dr Martin Hinoul

Katholieke Universiteit Leuven

Chair:

Prof Errol Tyobeka

Vice Chancellor

Tshwane University of Technology

Panel:

Dr David Phaho

Chief Executive Officer

Tshumisano Trust

Prof Deon de Beer

Chief Director Technology Management

Central University of Technology

Prof Gerhard Prinsloo

Director: Technology Transfer and Innovation

Durban University of Technology

10:30 - 11:00 Morning Tea

11:00 - 11:45 KEYNOTE

Technology assistance in research and development by universities of technology (case study)

Mr Richard Schulz

Managing Director ADEPT Airmotive, Durban

Chair:

Prof Irene Moutlana

Vice-Chancellor Vaal University of Technology

11:45 - 12:30 KEYNOTE

Operation and Impact of the ATN

Dr Vicki Thomson

Director: Australian Technology Network (ATN)

Chair:

Prof Vuyisa Mazwi-Tanga

Vice-Chancellor

Cape-Peninsula University of Technology

12:30 - 13:00 CONFERENCE CLOSE

Prof Roy du Pré

SATN Chairperson and Vice-Chancellor Durban University of Technology

13:00 - 14:00 LUNCH